Upgrading Suggestions?

Hey guys.  Instead of my usual posts passing on random bits of information to you that I may find interesting, this time I’m hoping you all can pass on some information to me.

I’ve been thinking about upgrading my PC for a while now, but have little experience messing around with the innards of a computer.  I’d rather upgrade my components than get something new because I don’t want to deal with the hassle of moving all my files over to something new, & I hate Windows 10.  I’ve been doing research on the web for a while, but my concerns are that I may be missing some vital piece of information.  Finding suggestions for GPUs is easy enough, but all the posts I’ve found relate to PC models newer than my own, & thus I’m afraid the components wouldn’t work with my current system or that I would need to upgrade other parts.

So I’m turning to you guys for help.

My main goal is to upgrade my GPU for better gaming performance.  What I have now works for the games I own, but I’ve noticed recently a lot of juttering during gameplay for more recent titles.  Besides, my PC is getting kind of old, so it’s probably due an upgrade anyway.  If any of you have been following my post for a while, I actually had to by my current PC right after my review of Painkiller.

Here are my current PC stats:

  • Dell XPS 8500
  • Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz
  • AMD Radeon HD 7570
  • unsure on PSU, but it’s whatever’s stock with an 8500

Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.  I’m not looking for the most expensive upgrades, but something that balances cost & long-term value.  It probably won’t be until next year when I upgrade, but I’d like to have all my options sorted about before I start giving it serious thought.  And sadly, I don’t know anyone who’s tech savvy, especially in relation to gaming.

Thanks in advance.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Upgrading Suggestions?

  1. You might want to plug those special into pc partpicker as it then let’s you sort components by what would compatible.

    If you can do it the nvidia 970 or 980 are great. I’ve also heard good things about the new amd fury cards. Decent price and performance

    They do require 500hz or more though, so might be a good idea to check your psu first

Leave a Reply

