Game Hunting

Last weekend I decided to do some bargain hunting at the local Gamestop & Cybertek, which is a used gaming store that opened near where I live.  Although I have such a large backlog of games right now (thanks mostly to Steam) it’s hard to pass up a good deal on a game, especially with this console cycle coming to an end.  I figured I might as well get some games while I can.  Besides, it’s hard to pass up a good deal on an older game.  I particularly like checking out Cybertek, since they have all kinds of used games.  You never know what you’ll find there.  Heck, they even have Gamecube, N64 & even a few SNES games there.

IMG_0698

Overall, I think I made out really well.  For a little of $100 I was able to buy six games (four used & two new).  You’ll notice a few older but good games that I passed on the first time around.  You’ll also notice the new Tomb Raider game, which I’ll be saving until after I finish the older ones.  I’m also going to try to give Dark Souls another go.  But it’s the package on the top that really made my day.

IMG_0701

A copy of Metroid Prime Trilogy for the Wii.  Used, of course, but still working great.  If you’re unsure of why talk about this piece of luck, it’s because there was only a very limited amount of this game released.  I think it was only in print for, like, five months.  Given the popularity of the Metroid series, not to mention the high ratings all three games in the trilogy received, it seems insane that they wouldn’t make more of these.  I was honestly surprised to find it at Gamestop.  I figured a game like this would be snatched as soon as possible.  So of course I had to get it.  This is actually the second most expensive used game you can get (I think Xenoblade Chronicles is the first).  At $62 used, it was definitely pricey, but that price is in line with most of the copies for sale on EBay.

I have a bit of a confession to make: I’ve never played the Metroid games.  I know, I know.  I should just turn in my gamer card now.  But it was more an issue of not having the consoles they were one at the time.  But now I can play such an iconic game.  I played through the first level & enjoyed it, even though I still suck at the Wii.  I actually plan on making this my current Wii game I’ll be playing, temporarily replacing Okami.  Mainly because I’m currently stuck on a mandatory digging minigame in Okami.

That’s it.  I just wanted to show off my good luck & a bit of my growing game collection.  I still have a lot of games to get through so I need to stop being lazy & take advantage of my slow time to get them done.

– GamerDame

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Game Hunting

  1. Metroid Prime is a very good game and definitely something everyone should try once. I’d say that is more than great find!

Leave a Reply

