First Impressions: Devil May Cry HD

As with my Silent Hill HD Collection reviews, my plan for Devil May Cry HD Collection is to review each individual game as it stands on it own & then give my opinion on whether or not the collection as a whole is worth purchasing, particularly if you already have the original copies of the games.

Devil May Cry is one of those games from a time when I didn’t do any gaming myself but still maintained enough interest to keep in touch with what was coming out.  But I never really looked into Devil May Cry the way I did Silent Hill or Parasite Eve.  I only know the most basic elements of the game.  It’s about a half-devil demon hunter named Dante who hunts demons to find the one who killed his mother.  The game starts with a blond woman who looks remarkably like his deceased mother telling him about a devil named Mundus that he needs to kill.  And after playing through the first two missions, that’s still about all I know.

I should first preface any discussion of these games by apologizing that I’ll probably be switching between calling them “devils” & “demons.”  I don’t know what the game considers the difference, & I can’t escape my Christian background telling me there’s only one Devil & everything else is a demon.  So sorry if it bothers you.  I’ll try to stick with “demon.”

Anyway, so far I have mixed feelings about the game.  On the one hand, I like the combat.  It’s very fast & Dante is agile enough that I can spend most of the time rolling away from enemies.  It’s quick & easy it is to switch between using guns & swords.  I also like the music so far, both in & out of combat.  It’s especially helpful that the battle music ends as soon as the last enemy is gone, letting me know I’m not about to get blindsided (more on that in a second).  The graphics also look pretty good for such an old game, but I’ll have to find footage from the original to see how it compares.

But I do have two issues with the game.  The first is the fixed camera angles.  I know this was the thing back when Devil May Cry was made, but that didn’t make it any less annoying then.  I can’t see enemies off-screen, which is bad if you’re facing ones with projectile attacks.  It’s even more annoying when the changing angle messes up your controls.  More than once I’ve been just trying to walk & ended up stuck between two angles because it changes my controls so fast I can’t correct then.  For example, if I’m walking down & the angle changes so that I need to walk up, I end up turning around & walking back into the previous section.  I really wished they would’ve changed the camera to a player-controlled one for the re-release.

My second issue is holding down the right shoulder button (on the 360) to be able to shoot or roll.  It feels awkward, especially if you have small hands like I do.  I think it would’ve been better to use the right trigger.  I’m not sure why they didn’t, given that the right trigger has absolutely no use in the game.  And you can’t reassign the controls.

Those gripes aside, I have enjoyed what little I’ve played so far.  Although there are around twenty mission, they all seem to be fairly short (I’m managing to clear them in around twenty minutes).  I’m going to try to play a couple of missions every day, so hopefully it won’t be too long before I’m moving on to the second game.

– GamerDame

devil-may-cry-hd-collection-screenshot-1-e1318876166330

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impressions

Leave a Reply

