Pigs to the Slaughter for Frictional Games

This is going to be a quick news post on something interesting I found today to make up for my lack of posts in the coming weeks.  With the end of the semester coming up I’ve got a ton of papers coming due, not to mention I’m hoping to get a placement for an internship next year.  But I came across this bit of information while watching the new trailer for Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs.

In case you don’t keep up with horror games, A Machine for Pigs is not so much a sequel to Frictional Games’ Amnesia: The Dark Descent as it is a off-shoot of the idea.  It’s being developed by thechineseroom, the same indie developer behind Dear Esther.  Both companies are being tight-lipped about the game’s story so far.  All that has been revealed is that it’s set in the same universe as The Dark Descent, some 60 years after the events from the first game.  You play as a man named Oswald who is haunted by a failed expedition and memories of a monstrous machine.  Based on the dialogue in the trailer, I’m thinking that the “pigs” this machine runs on refers to more than just pork…

I’ve never played The Dark Descent before, but I’ve watched several playthroughs.  As much as I love horror games, this one looks way too much for me.  And the new trailer indicates that A Machine for Pigs will be just as bad.  I was listening to it with headphones, & the sound of something squealing like a butchered pig coming from behind Oswald sent chills up my spine.

On the game’s homepage, thechineseroom is requesting gamers’ fear.  And they mean literally.  They’re requesting people to record their screams, whimpers, shrieks… anything to express pure fear, terror & panic.  These recordings will be including the game’s soundtrack, which I can tell you just from the new trailer is already terrifying.

If you’re interested, send your recordings in either WAV, OGG or MP3 format to piggies@thechineseroom.co.uk.

Help these developers out so they can make an even more terrifying experience for us all.

– GamerDame

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

