Nerd Nation

I wasn’t going to post anything today, but while I was going through my usual rotation of sites, I came across an article that I really wanted to comment on.  If you’ve ever spent any amount of time of the Escapist’s website, I’m sure you know who Yahtzee is.  If you’re unfamiliar with Mr. Yahtzee’s work, we’ll just call him a unique video game journalist.  Regardless, his recent article touched on a subject I’ve only recently come to realize:

Everyone is a nerd.

Now before you start to argue with me, let me explain why just about every person you know is a nerd.  Because for a long time most people have had the same image of a nerd.  You know what I mean.  The scrawny, pale youth with coke-bottle glasses pouring hours into carving his own D&D figurines.  And if you are one of these people, more power to you.  But that’s not an accurate picture.  Nerds come in all shapes.

What is a “nerd” when you get right down to it?  A nerd, by definition, is someone who single-mindedly obsesses over a topic that other people don’t care about.  They love said topic so much that they are compelled to learn everything they can about it, & are usually more than eager to impart this knowledge on other people regardless of whether or not they’re interested.  If they could, they’d spend every waking hour engaged in the topic.

By this definition, nearly everyone has something they nerd out over.  Almost everyone has at least one topic they’re passionate about.  Here’s a short list of some of the more common nerdings I’ve seen.  Do you fall into one of them?

  • Video games
  • Anime
  • Facebook/Twitter
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • Sports (any team, league or sport)
  • Guns
  • Technology
  • Fifty Shades of Gray
  • Food (usually a specific type)
  • Reality TV
  • Cars
  • A specific celebrity

Are you surprised by some of the things I listed?  And these are just the ones I have to deal with.  I can’t tell you how many times I roll my eyes when my co-workers start gushing about how great Fifty Shades is (typically in the same conversation that they try to convince me they don’t read a book known for its sex scenes for the sex).  Or how every Sunday morning I stare at my guy friends blankly while they talk about the weekend game & start listing off stats that mean as much to me as the stock report in the paper.  But I’m sure they feel the same way when I start talking about Mass Effect with the gaming-nerd friend.

And that’s the beauty of it.  If we all have something we nerd out to, then it’s okay.  I don’t have to understand your obsessions & neither are you obligated to understand mine.  Just be tolerant when I start nerding out over it.  Don’t be ashamed that you have a passion for something.  Own that title.  No matter how obscure it may be.  With over seven billion people in the world, I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to be the only person who loves a certain thing.  To quote Mr. Yahtzee:

“Let’s stop all this nerd-on-nerd judgmentalism, alright?  And pity that tragic minority of people who aren’t nerds.  People for whom there is nothing that provokes any passionate interest.  Who regard all things with folded arms and an aloof sneer. What sad, empty, friendless lives they must lead.”

My name is GamerDame & I nerd out over video games, anime, horror movies, fantasy fiction & health food.

Article cited “Sports Nerds Are Nerds Too,” by Ben “Yahtzee” Croshaw, http://www.escapistmagazine.com/articles/view/columns/extra-punctuation/9982-Sports-Nerds-Are-Nerds-Too.2

– GamerDame

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

