Gamer Tip: Infinite Skyrim Experience

I’ve been sick with a cold for the past few days, so I haven’t felt like playing any new games.  I did, however, log some more hours in Skyrim & learned of a bug or glitch to give you “infinite” experience in your skills.  I put quotation marks because obviously you can only level your skills up to level 100 (at least in vanilla Skyrim).  I can’t take any credit for discovering this little trick, but I thought it would be a cool thing to pass on to my readers.

To begin this glitch, you must have completed the Discerning the Trandmundane quest.  It’s a rather long quest, so I’m not going to go into how to complete it all.  That’s not what this short guide is for.  Suffice to say, it ends with the Dragonborn receiving the Oghma Infinium book from the Daedric Prince Hermaeus Mora.  This is a special book, reminiscent of the Necronomicon, that when read allows the player to choose a one time increase to their skills.  There are three paths to choose: Might (combat skills), Shadow (thievery skills) & Magic (self-explanatory).  Whichever path you choose, you’ll get a five level increase on those skills & the book will disappear from the game.

However, there is a glitch that you can exploit to prevent the book from disappearing after you read it, allowing you to max your skills out.  I can certify that this glitch works on all versions of Skyrim, given that I did this just a few days ago.

Important note: I highly recommend saving your game often in case you mess this up.  I’d recommend saving after each level increase & choosing your perk.

  1. Once you have the Oghma Infinium, go to any bookshelf that you own.
  2. Select the bookshelf to bring up the inventory screen.
  3. From the inventory screen, highlight the Oghma Infinium & read it (on my 360 version I always used the right trigger).
  4. Choose your path.
  5. Close the book but do not exit the inventory screen.
  6. While still in the inventory screen, select to store the Ogham Infinium.
  7. Exit out of the inventory screen.  The book should appear on your bookshelf, though noticeably visually glitched.
  8. Select the book to read.
  9. When the prompt comes up, select “Do Not Read” then Take the book.  This will put it back in your inventory.
  10. Repeat steps 2-9 until you reach your desired levels.

It should also be noted that doing this process glitches the bookshelf you’re using, adding one extra slot each time you return the Ogham Infinium to the shelf.  I ended up with over 60 available slots on the shelf.  I haven’t tested to see how this will affect any other books placed there.

Using this glitch, I maxed out all of my skills & went from level 49 to 81.  It’s a useful glitch if you’re at a higher level & are having trouble leveling up some of your less-focused-on skills.  It should also be noted that this only increases your skill levels, it doesn’t give you unlimited perks or anything like that, so your overall level increases normally.

One thing I didn’t test was whether it’s safe to leave the building with the book in your bookshelf.  I didn’t move from the spot I was standing in until I was finished leveling up & used the book normally on my final level up attempt to make it disappear to avoid any future problems.  At best, I’d say take the book with you if you want to take a break from the glitch, as keeping it in your inventory afterwards doesn’t seem to have any affect.

Have fun with your new, all-powerful Dragonborn!  And for those who say this is cheating, I’d like to think the god of forbidden knowledge would approve of such behavior.

– GamerDame

Leave a comment

Filed under Tips

Leave a Reply

