Honorable Mentions of E3 ’12

I mentioned in my last post that I would be making an “Honorable Mentions” post to cover games that were showcased at E3 this year that I wouldn’t be able to play, mainly because I don’t have the right systems.  These are the games that I think look really promising & I’m excited about, but I’ll have to wait until some generous soul uploads them to Youtube before I can actually see them.

Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

 

PS3

Translated as “The Another World,” Ni no Kuni was actually released in Japan for both the PS3 & Nintendo DS.  However, it’s only being released on the PS3 in the West.  As I don’t own either system, it doesn’t make that big a difference to me, but I am disappointed.  Ni no Kuni is the first game to be co-developed by Studio Ghibli, which for those of you who aren’t into anime has created such great films as Laputa: Castle in the Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke & Spirited Away.  I love all of these films, so I’m very saddened that I won’t get to play this myself.

For those familiar with Studio Ghibli’s work, the art style will instantly be recognizable.  Studio Ghibli created the animated cutscenes as well as the musical score.  The story revolves around a thirteen-year old boy named Oliver whose mother has recently died.  A fairy who was one of Oliver’s dolls transports him to a parallel world where his mother can be saved.  The main villain is obviously the White Witch, but the trailer also shows a dark wizard who wants to taint Oliver’s pure heart with despair.  Overall the game seems to have a colorful & whimsical feel.

Ni no Kuni is an RPG with real-time battles, similar to Tales of Vesperia.  You can pause combat to change strategies, but otherwise you can control Oliver or his companions directly.  Oliver has the ability to capture “familiars” that he can summon in combat as well.

This beautiful game is set to be released in the West in early next year.

Beyond: Two Souls

 

PS3

Another PS3 exclusive, Beyond: Two Souls comes from Quantic Dream, the studio behind Indigo Prophecy (or Fahrenheit) & Heavy Rain.  Although I couldn’t play Heavy Rain, I loved Indigo Prophecy despite the flaws of the second half of the game.  Beyond has been scheduled for Q1 of 2013,  so not a whole lot has been revealed about the game yet.  What we do know is that it follows a young woman named Jodie who has an… entity following her named Aiden (a popular name at E3 apparently).  The game will follow fifteen years of Jodie’s life, letting the player watch her grow up as she seeks to figure out what this entity is & how to accept his presence.  A large part of the game also appears to be avoiding government forces that probably want to experiment on her.

Director David Cage has stated that Beyond will be more action-oriented that their previous titles.  There are no pre-rendered cutscenes & players will be able to control all of the action.  Players will be able to switch between controlling Jodie & Ivan, both with their own abilities.  Cage has also stated that Jodie “can’t die,” in the sense that you lose & have to restart a section.  She can, however, fail, but the story continues in a different direction.  For example, the demo at E3 had Jodie escaping from SWAT teams on the roof of a train.  If she fails, she gets arrested & the next section probably involves her escaping from custody.  For Quantic Dream, the game is about telling a story, & it loses the impact if you have to keep repeating the same section just because you didn’t complete it like the developers wanted.

A much shorter list than the last one, but I have some general but important notes from E3:

  1. I didn’t list it on the previous post because it’s an HD re-release, but I’m looking forward to playing Zone of the Enders.  As it was previously as PS exclusive I didn’t get to play it the first time around, but I heard it was a great series, especially The 2nd Runner.  The HD collection is coming out this year for the 360, PS3 & PS Vita.
  2. Bethesda gave us some solid information on Dawnguard.  I won’t list the information here, but the info includes perks for both the Vampire Lords & Werewolves, a new leveling up system & quest details.  Check out the Elder Scrolls Wiki if you want the details.  They also set the release date for the 360 as June 26, which is awesome because that’s my birthday!  It’s like a present to me from Bethesda… except I have to pay for it.  Between this & picking up Dragon’s Dogma with the gift card I’d better be getting, when will I have time for a party?  Oh, & not release date has been set for the other consoles.

So that’s it for E3 this year.  I know some people were disappointed by no new console news, but between the strong sales still going on for the systems, the good gaming lineup & the ability to upgrade the consoles online, I don’t expect to hear anything more for a while.  I wouldn’t expect any console news until the next E3 at the earliest.

– GamerDame

2 Comments

Filed under News

2 responses to “Honorable Mentions of E3 ’12

  1. Beyond: Two Souls and The Last of Us look amazing and they are really making me consider buying a PS3 😛

Leave a Reply

