SpikeTV Announces VGA Nominees

I’ll admit, I don’t watch a lot of SpikeTV.  It seems like it’s always either CSI or shows that convince me men should be locked up in cages (yes, I’m looking at you, Manswers).  But the one program I will watch is their yearly Video Game Awards.

The nominees are now listed on Spike’s website for easy voting, although I’m not sure what the point of letting us vote is, since the winners are decided by a panel.  Voters only have a say in two categories: Most Anticipated & Best Trailer.  But at least the list of “advisers” seem to all come from various forms of gaming media & not the developers themselves, because that would be a bit biased.  A broad spectrum is represented, from Nintendo Power, GameInformer, 1UP, PC Gamer, IGN & other outlets, so at least it’s people who know how to critique.

The categories include: Game of the Year, Studio of the Year, Best XBox 360 Game, Best Playstation 3 Game, Best Wii Game, Best PC Game, Best Handheld/Mobile Game, Best Shooter, Best Action Adventure Game, Best RPG, Best Multiplayer, Best Individual Sports Game, Best Team Sports Game, Best Driving Game, Best Fighting Game, Best Motion Game, Best Independent Game, Best Adapted Video Game, Best Song in a Game, Best Original Score, Best Graphics, Best Performance By a Human Male (as opposed to what, a dog?), Best Performance By a Human Female, Best Downloadable Game & Best DLC.

I could only vote for a few games in good conscience, because some sections I hadn’t played any of the games to give an honest vote.  For instance, I don’t play shooters, so I couldn’t vote.  But let’s see if I can make some predictions about who’s going to win.

Game of the Year.  I voted for Skyrim, of course.  This is a tough one to predict, especially since a few of the games just came out.  If I had to pick, I’d say the winner will either be Skyrim or Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword.  Skyrim’s gotten great scores all around.  I haven’t seen the scores for Skyward Sword yet, but Zelda games typically do well.

Studio of the Year.  Again, I voted for Bethesda, & I think they’ll win.  But I wouldn’t be surprised if Rocksteady wins.  As the studio behind Arkham Asylum & City, they’ve rejuvenated the superhero genre & showed that it is possible to make a good Batman game.

Best XBox 360 Game.  I didn’t vote in this category because I didn’t play any of the games, but I think Gears of War 3 will get it.  Not only is it as mainstream as you can get, it’s the final chapter in a series with a massive fanbase.

Best Wii Game.  Come on now, do you really think Skyward Sword will lose?  If any other game wins, I’ll be shocked.

Best PC Game.  This is a tough call between Minecraft (which I voted for) & The Witcher 2, but I think The Witcher will win.  I’ve never played the game myself, but from what I understand it is the epitome of PC gaming.

Best Shooter.  Since I have no experience, I can’t say for myself which is better, but I’m predicting it will be Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.

Best RPG.  I predict Skyrim will take this one (& voted for it) but I wouldn’t be surprised if Dark Souls came from behind to steal the prize.  I’ve seen tons of forum posts comparing which is better.  They’re both good, but it just depends on what you prefer: open-world & immersion or punishing difficulty balanced by accomplishment.

Best Fighting Game.  Although my first guess was Mortal Kombat, I think Marvel vs Capcom 3 will win.  The idea of pitting your favorite Marvel & Capcom characters against each other, I think, is just too inticing.

Best Independent Game.  I will be very surprised if Minecraft doesn’t win this one.  Although Bastion‘s a close contender, I don’t think it can compare with what Minecraft has accomplished.

Best Adapted Video Game.  I strongly predict Arkham City winning this.  As fun as Lego Star Wars may be, I doubt it compares to the Batman.

Best Performance By a Human Female.  I can see Claudia Black (Chloe from Uncharted) winning this, but I really think Tara Strong (Harley Quinn from Arkham City) will take it.  Harley was such a popular character in the animated series that I think the fans really appreciate her being in the game.

Most Anticipated Game.  I voted for Mass Effect 3, but I think it’ll be between that & Halo 4.  Both series have a massive following.  I think Halo has a bigger fanbase, but ME3 is the final part of the series so there’s a lot of hype for it.

The award show is set for the 10th of next month, so we don’t have long to wait before we see if I’m right.  But what do you all think?  I’m I right, or do you disagree?

– GamerDame

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

